Pulling it all together

image
One of my favorite things to do is to create a look for a new work day. I’m the type of woman who dresses herself depending on her mood. It could be classy one day(think Chanel inspired jacket with pearls), or it could be a casual, chic outfit that screams laid back but stylish. Yesterday, it was a black skirt with one long zipper in the back. I don’t know about you, but I love a piece that has that something extra that makes it pop! This was topped with a red sweater, black motorcycle-type jacket, and studded black heels. Today it will be black dress pants, black top, and a two-toned, brown and black jacket. And accessories? That’s the best part for me! Diamond studded earrings and a black enamel necklace to top it off (thank you Nicole Ritchie for this beautiful piece). And I complete the look with a fun and chic ring.
So how do I do this? I am a visual. I need to play with pieces to figure out what will work and what won’t. Whether I throw possibilities onto my bed, or whether I hang various pieces from my closet racks, I need to step back and figure out what will work. Fashion should be fun! And for me, it’s creating an outfit based on how I am feeling when I roll out of bed in the morning. Don’t know how to create an outfit, but are seeking some sort of inspiration to walk out of your house in the morning feeling fabulous? Do what I do! I tear pictures of outfits that I like from magazines and save them for future reference. It is a quick and fool proof way to get dressed feeling prepped and ready for the day!

About Kimberly Kettering

I am a modern day working woman completely obsessed with fashion! Fashion is, without a doubt, the truest expression of oneself. It reflects our personality and how we choose to present ourselves. So in my mind, shouldn't we be as fabulous and polished as possible?

Posted on January 14, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

