What is Considered Age Appropriate?

I was reading my US Weekly magazine a few weeks ago and came across a quote by Julianne Moore in regards to being stylish at 53. She was quoted saying, “After a certain age, you can’t wear anything with words on it.” This made me think, “Where do we draw the line? And at what age is this considered completely tacky and inappropriate?”
I have a beautiful blouse from Bebe. It’s red and bears the Bebe name all over it. However, to me it is completely age appropriate and one of my favorite work shirts. But I do agree that certain articles of clothing that have the company’s name on it really do need to be removed from one’s closet.
The biggest offender? Brand names and logos printed across the butt. Why. On. Earth. And again, this is just my opinion. To me, if you are young you can get away with more, and these young women should enjoy their fashion choices and flaunt it! But really, ladies, at some point I think that as we get older, we need to evolve with our choices in fashion. We can still rock alternative, classy, preppy, etc. looks and all the while not look as though we are headed back to our glory days of high school or college. Women can most certainly wear articles of clothing with logos on it. However, I think one thing needs to be kept in mind. Make sure that YOU wear the clothes, the clothes should not be wearing you. And they should never, ever make you look ridiculous given your age.

Thoughts? I’d love to hear your point of view.

image
Photograph by Vittorio Sciosia/Corbis.

About Kimberly Kettering

I am a modern day working woman completely obsessed with fashion! Fashion is, without a doubt, the truest expression of oneself. It reflects our personality and how we choose to present ourselves. So in my mind, shouldn't we be as fabulous and polished as possible?

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

